Milan celebrates 122 years since its inception

Milan celebrates 122 years since its inception

Today Milan celebrates its 122nd birthday. The Milan giants were founded on December 16, 1899 and have since established themselves as one of the three largest Italian clubs, along with city rivals Inter and title leader Juventus.

The Devil, as the team is known, boasts a number of trophies. The club is most proud of its 7 European Champions Cup / Champions League titles, which is a record for a team from the Apennines. Also, the "Rossoneri" are third in the number of titles in Serie A - 18. They also boast 5 Italian Cups, 7 Italian Super Cups, 5 European Super Cups, 2 National Cup Winners' Cups, 3 Intercontinental Cups and 1 trophy from the World Club Championship.

Many football legends have played in Milan, such as the Swedish trio Gunnar Gren, Gunnar Nordal and Nils Lidholm, the Dutch trio Ruud Gullit, Marco van Basten and Frank Rijkaard, as well as Cesare Maldini, Jose Altafini, Gianni Rivera, Franco Maresini, Pao Alessandro Costacurta, George Uea, Andriy Shevchenko, Gennaro Gattuso, Filippo Inzaghi, Alessandro Nesta, Clarence Seedorf, Cafu, Kaka, Ronaldinho, Ronaldo, David Beckham and Zlatan Ibrahimovic. The team was led by renowned coaches such as Nereo Rocco, Giovanni Trapattoni, Arigo Sacchi, Fabio Capello, Carlo Ancelotti and Massimiliano Allegri.
  • Share:
Bruno Nah


Meet Bruno Nah, a highly experienced and respected sports news expert with a passion for delivering accurate and captivating content.